May 25, 2020

Articles of Confederation

Scene from the Signing of the American Constitution

Scene from the Signing of the American Constitution

Articles of Confederation is part 14 of “Revisiting the American Revolution History,” my lead up to the Fourth of July celebration. The Articles of Confederation were created to define a new central government for America. The members of the Second Continental Congress continued to govern in place of a national government. The colonists needed policies on national issues such as commerce, foreign affairs and defense. They appointed a committee to draft the Articles of Confederation.

The Articles of Confederation was the first constitution of the thirteen states. The Articles were written in the summer of 1777, and established the United States as a new nation under the name “The United States of America.” It set rules governing the operations the United States to provide for common defense, the security of their liberties, and the mutual and general welfare of its citizens. The Articles also defined the roles of the federal and state governments. Lastly, the Articles defined the union as “perpetual,” meaning that it would continue forever. After a year of debate, the Articles were approved by the Second Continental Congress on November 15, 1777.

Check out these links to learn more about the Articles of Confederation. Also see the Articles of Confederation video collection.

In the next session, I’ll talk about the Treaty of Paris.

Leave a Reply to Anonymous Cancel reply